Confessions of a (klutsy) newlywed.

Sigh.  You know… sometimes, you just have to laugh at yourself.

Nice, huh?

Let me back up.

The other day, I found this recipe for blondies on the Eat, Live, Run blog.  When I saw that they were called “Lazy Girl’s” blondies, I knew that they were for me. ;)

So I decided to try them out.  The only change I decided to make was to use butterscotch chips in place of chocolate chips… just for a bit of a twist.

First I mixed the brown sugar and melted butter together.

Then I added the vanilla, salt, and egg (and let me just say, I don’t even have to look at the recipe in order to type this… I have it memorized… you’ll see why very soon!).

Then I added in the flour, being careful not to overmix (as Jenna said!).

Then I folded in my butterscotch chips.  I deviated from the recipe a little and used a cup, rather than a 1/2 cup, because more is always better in my book!  Plus, Jenna even said that she just dumped in her chips, so I’d like to think that she added more than a 1/2 cup, too. ;)

Finally, I began to pour everything in to a greased 8 inch round pan (I didn’t have a 8×10 pan like she suggested, so I improvised).  And that’s when, this happened…

If you’re wondering what on earth I did, well, I’ll tell ya.  That pink mixing bowl is pretty darn heavy!  So I was lifting it up to pour the batter in to the baking dish, and it fell out of my dainty weak little hands. :/  And then I was very sad…

for a moment, at least!  Then I remembered that I still had more of all of the ingredients left!  Yippeee! :)

So I threw the first batch out.

Evidence that I really threw the first batch out...

And started over again!  But this time, I only had like a 5×7 dish or something weird like that…

Take two!

Here’s that butter and brown sugar mixture again (because you can never have too much butter and brown sugar).

After mixing everything up… again…

I CAREFULLY poured the batter into the greased baking pan.  Key word: carefully.

I put them in the oven at 350 degrees.  Jenna baked hers for 30 minutes but since my pan made the batter a little thicker, I baked mine for closer to 35 minutes.

They smelled really good when they were in the oven.  Here’s what they looked like when I took them out:

They look good, right?  Here’s what they looked like when I sliced in to them:

Does something look off to you?  They didn’t seem to be cooked completely, and they came out really buttery.  This didn’t stop me from eating one two because they did taste good, but I knew I couldn’t serve them to anyone else… they were just too underdone.

I contemplated not publishing this post because who wants to check out a recipe that didn’t seem to work properly?!  But I decided to post it for three reasons:

  1. I still think that the blogger who posted the recipe, Jenna, knows what she’s doing!  All of HER pictures look amazing (seriously… you should check them out.).  I think it’s something that I did wrong.  So I would encourage others to try her recipes for yourselves and see if you get better results than I did!
  2. The whole purpose of this blog is to record my “ups and downs”, right?  Well I’ve had plenty of “ups”, but I have to face facts that I’m going to have some “downs” every once and a while.  I’m still learning, so these things happen! :)
  3. You needed a laugh today, right?  Even if it’s at my expense, I’m cool with that.

Well before I sign off, please humor me by answering this question:

What’s been your biggest “oops” in the kitchen?

About notsodomesticated

I am a 27 year old, married, Christian who loves cooking and baking (although I'm still learning!), traveling, spending time with friends, family and my husband, and running. I have a huge sweet tooth and will never turn down a homemade baked good! ;) I also want to make a disclaimer that I am not a nutritionist or fitness expert by any stretch of the imagination... I'm just sharing my own thoughts and experiences!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Confessions of a (klutsy) newlywed.

  1. Loretta says:

    Your BIGGEST mistake was substituting BUTTERSCOTCH for the CHOCOLATE! WHO in THIS family would EVER get rid of the CHOCOLATE! Really am enjoying the BLOG though!

  2. Pamela says:

    Haha! Love reading your blog..ok,question: Did you let the blondies cool completely in their pan before cutting into them and eating them? Sometimes they will continue to cook and the consistency just isn’t right when still warm.
    *My biggest oops? LOL… i have had many along the way (but persistence! Kristen, like you, won’t let those stop me!) One of them, actually, was while baking these amazing blondies as well by Dorie Greenspan! Guess what I did? You know how they have like a million ingredients.. this one called for coconut, chocolate chips, toffee chips, nuts, butterscotch chips, etc…. so after pouring it in the pan, I thought.. “this looks off.. last time I made it it seemed to make more..” ah hah! I forgot all the dry ingredients! My sister was cracking up while I pulled the pan out of the oven and attempted to pour the already melting wet ingredients into a bowl to mix with the flour.. to say the least, they did not look like blondies anymore, since the chocolate had melted, they looked like a very light colored brownie. But they tasted great! LOL.. sometimes new recipes are created with mistakes!

    • I thought that I let them cool long enough. Normally I dig right in, but I definitely waited a good 15 minutes before cutting in to them. Should I have waited longer?! And thank you for sharing… you make me feel a little better about my mess ups! ;)

  3. Pingback: It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood… | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

  4. Cheri McGuire says:

    Very Entertaining! I look forward to reading about your day(s)s Wishing you another great day tomorrow :-)

  5. Sara says:

    I caught my frying pan on fire once….and even though it was an oil fire, i tried to use water to put it out. which only made it 10 times worse!! So of course the smoke alarms all went off and the I couldn’t reach the highest one, which was at the top of the cathedral ceiling. It continued to go off for a good 10-15 minutes, which got all the neighbors to go to the parking lot to try and figure out what was going on:) needless to say, every time i cook with oil in a frying pan now i get a little nervous and have a lid at the ready, in case it ever catches on fire again!

    • Oh wow, thank you for this… it definitely makes me feel better! ;) Isn’t it fun to laugh at each other’s mistakes haha?! I’m so curious how the oil caught on fire?! That is so something that would happen to me. :/ Thanks for sharing and please keep commenting! P.S. We need to plan our get together! ;)

  6. Pingback: Soft oatmeal cookies | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

  7. Pingback: Banana toffee cupcakes | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

  8. Pingback: Crispy Apricot Pork Chops | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

  9. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Oat Cookies | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

  10. Pingback: Cake tease. | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

  11. Pingback: Sweet Success. | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed

Leave a Reply

